Curly hair products without coconut: 56 leave-ins, curl creams, gels, mousses and co-washes read label by label
Coconut oil is the curl world's favourite ingredient, and 'sulfate-free' usually means a coconut-derived cleanser instead. We read 56 curl products from the makers' and retailers' own lists: 33 with no coconut-derived name, 23 with one, and why the 'coconut-free' shelf at curly shops is not what it sounds like.
Published October 5, 2026 · 13 min read · How these guides are made

If you have curly hair and a coconut allergy, you have probably noticed that the curl aisle is where coconut goes to live. Coconut oil is in the leave-in, the curl cream, the mousse and the co-wash, and the "clean" alternatives swap it for ingredients whose names start with coco-. One blogger's estimate is that coconut oil is in about 80 percent of hair products made for Black women [7]. We could not find a study behind that number, but after reading 56 labels for this guide we would not argue with it.
The short answer: curl products with no coconut-derived ingredient exist in every category except one. We found 12 leave-ins and creams, 15 gels, 3 mousses and 3 deep conditioners with no coconut-derived name on the list we read, and we list them below. The category where we found nothing was the co-wash: all five we read contain coconut oil, cocamidopropyl betaine, or both. And the "sin coco" and "coconut-free" shelves at curly retailers mean no coconut oil, not no derivatives. Two of the products on them list a coconut-derived oil in the top half of the label.
Everything below is one specific product, read on one specific date from the maker's or a retailer's published list [8]. Formulas change and differ between countries. The list on the bottle in your hand is the one that counts: how to read a label.
Why coconut is everywhere in curl care
Two reasons, one scientific and one cultural.
The scientific one is a 2003 study from India that compared mineral oil, sunflower oil and coconut oil on hair. Coconut oil was the only one of the three that reduced protein loss from the hair, damaged or not, used before or after washing. The authors' explanation is that coconut oil is mostly lauric acid, a small, straight molecule with an affinity for hair protein, so it gets inside the hair shaft where the other two oils sit on the surface [1]. That one paper is the reason coconut oil is on the front of so many curl products.
The cultural one is the Curly Girl Method. Its rules, as the CurlsBot community site summarises them, are no sulfates, no silicones, no waxes and no drying alcohols [3]. The replacement cleansers that the method treats as mild are, by name, cocamidopropyl betaine, coco-betaine, coconut betaine, decyl glucoside, cocamidopropyl glucoside, caprylyl glucoside and sodium cocoyl glucoside [2]. Most of those are made from coconut. So a product labelled sulfate-free or CGM approved has usually replaced a cleanser with an uncertain source by one that is coconut by name. For someone avoiding coconut, "sulfate-free" is a warning sign, not a reassurance.
What "coconut-free" means at a curly shop
Curly retailers in Spain run large "sin coco" collections: 513 products at Curly Stop, 617 tagged "Sin Coco" at Boutique Curly, 80 at Metodo Curly [5, 6]. English-language bloggers keep lists too [4, 9, 10]. They are useful starting points, and they do not mean what a person with an allergy needs them to mean.
Holistic Enchilada, the most-read English list, says so plainly: its products are "free of coconut, but not derivatives" [4]. Coils and Glory's list is titled "coconut oil-free" [9]. The Spanish collections give no definition at all [5, 6]. And when we read the labels:
- Innersense I Create Hold, in Curly Stop's "sin coco" collection, lists caprylic/capric triglyceride, an oil fraction made from coconut or palm kernel [5, 8].
- Bounce Curl Avocado & Rose Oil Clump & Define Cream, which appears on the Holistic Enchilada list, has caprylic/capric triglyceride as its fourth ingredient [4, 8].
- Bouclème Intensive Moisture Treatment, also on that list, has coco-caprylate third [4, 8].
None of those shops or bloggers is lying. They are filtering for Cocos nucifera oil, which is the thing most of their readers want to avoid, for hair reasons rather than medical ones. If your reason is an allergy, you are filtering for about 40 names, and you have to do it yourself.
The babassu question. Several products on the "no coconut" lists replace coconut oil with babassu oil (Orbignya oleifera, also written Attalea speciosa). Babassu is a different species in the same palm family, and its oil is, like coconut's, mostly lauric acid. We found no published study of whether people allergic to coconut react to it. Holistic Enchilada notes it is "closely related to coconut" and reports one reader's reaction [4]. We list babassu products below with the babassu named, so you can decide with your allergist. For the proteins involved in the food form of the allergy, a refined oil of any species carries very little; for a contact allergy to a coconut-derived cleanser, babassu is irrelevant, because it is not a cleanser.
33 curl products with no coconut-derived name
From the makers' and retailers' lists, 5 October 2026 [8]. "No coconut-derived name" means none of the names on our list appears, including caprylic/capric triglyceride and coco-caprylate. It does not mean the maker has confirmed the plant source of every ingredient; fatty alcohols, glycerin and the conditioning quats can come from coconut, palm or elsewhere and the label does not say. For the difference, see the two kinds of coconut allergy.
Leave-ins and curl creams
| Product | Notes |
|---|---|
| Kinky-Curly Knot Today | Mango, slippery elm, marshmallow root, cetyl alcohol, behentrimonium methosulfate. Nine ingredients. |
| Cantu Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream | Canola oil, shea, olive. The one mass-market Cantu product we found without a coconut name; most of the range lists coconut oil. |
| Not Your Mother's Curl Talk Leave-In Conditioner | Avocado, marula and buriti oils. Lists caprylyl/capryl glucoside, a cleanser whose source is not stated. |
| Giovanni Direct Leave-In | Stearyl alcohol base, botanical extracts. |
| Jessicurl Confident Coils Styling Solution | Jessicurl publishes full lists for every product. |
| Jessicurl Rockin' Ringlets Styling Potion | Flaxseed. |
| DevaCurl Styling Cream | Tapioca starch, jojoba. Read on Ulta's list; DevaCurl's own site was not checked. |
| Noughty Wave Hello Curl Taming Cream (UK) | Dicaprylyl ether, a lubricant whose fatty source is not stated. |
| Curlsmith Curl Defining Styling Soufflé | Babassu oil polyglyceryl-4 esters, avocado, shea. |
| Curly Love Acondicionador Sin Aclarado (Spain, Latin America) | Mango seed oil, babassu, sunflower. Sold under Curly Stop's "sin coco" badge, and in this case the full list agrees. |
| Garnier Fructis Método Rizos crema sin aclarado (Spain) | Stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, see the note below. |
| Garnier Fructis Nutri Rizos crema definidora (Spain) | Pistachio oil. |
One note for contact allergy. Garnier's Spanish curl creams, like more than half of the conditioners in our hair-care guide, use stearamidopropyl dimethylamine. It is not made from coconut, but it is built on DMAPA, the impurity blamed for most reactions to cocamidopropyl betaine. If patch testing found you allergic to cocamidopropyl betaine or amidoamine, show this name to your dermatologist.
Gels and custards
| Product | Notes |
|---|---|
| Kinky-Curly Original Curling Custard | Twelve ingredients: botanical infusion, aloe, agave, pectin, vitamin E, preservatives, natural fragrance. |
| Ecoslay Orange Marmalade | Flaxseed gel, sold refrigerated. |
| Not Your Mother's Curl Talk Gel | VP/VA copolymer, propanediol, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil. |
| Eco Style Professional Olive Styling Gel | Carbomer, olive oil, wheat protein, PVP. The cheapest gel on this list. |
| Giovanni L.A. Hold Styling Gel | VP/VA copolymer, hydroxyethylcellulose, botanical extracts. |
| Bounce Curl Light Creme Gel | Quinoa, aloe. The Avocado & Rose cream from the same brand lists caprylic/capric triglyceride; do not assume the range is uniform. |
| Umberto Giannini Curl Jelly (UK) | |
| Aussie Instant Freeze Gel | Laureth-23, a cleanser-type ingredient whose source is not stated. The Miracle Curls mousse from the same brand lists coconut oil. |
| Curl Keeper Original | Read on a UK retailer's list. Lists DMDM hydantoin, a formaldehyde-releasing preservative. |
| Miribel Naturals Flaxseed Gel | |
| Uncle Funky's Daughter Curly Magic | Horsetail, aloe. |
| Flora & Curl Sweet Hibiscus Curl Defining Gel (UK) | Pectin. The Curl Activating Lotion from the same line has coconut oil second. |
| Jessicurl Spiralicious Styling Gel | Polyquaternium-69. |
| Bouclème Super Hold Styler (UK) | The only Bouclème product we read without a coconut name; the Curl Cream, Curl Cleanser and Intensive Moisture Treatment all have one. |
| Curly Love Gel Definidor (Spain, Latin America) | Propylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, a fatty ester whose source is not stated. |
Mousses
| Product | Notes |
|---|---|
| Not Your Mother's Curl Talk Mousse | Polyquaternium-46, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate. |
| Innersense I Create Lift | Pullulan. Note the brand's I Create Hold gel does list caprylic/capric triglyceride. |
| Giovanni Air-Turbo Charged Hair Styling Mousse |
Mousse is the hardest category. Of the six we read, three carry coconut oil or cocamidopropyl betaine (below), and the mass-market Garnier Fructis Curl Construct was reported to us with coconut fruit juice but we could not re-read the list ourselves, so it is not in either table.
Deep conditioners and butters
| Product | Notes |
|---|---|
| Mielle Organics Babassu & Mint Deep Conditioner | Babassu oil fifth. Isoamyl laurate, source not stated. |
| Jessicurl Deep Conditioning Treatment | Lists Theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter. Cocoa is not coconut, however much the word looks like one. Even the "no fragrance added" version lists fragrance allergens from its herbal extracts. |
| Camille Rose Almond Jai Twisting Butter | Almond milk and oil, pumpkin, sesame, macadamia. Several tree nuts; relevant if yours is a tree-nut allergy too. The brand's Curl Maker gel lists coconut oil third. |
23 curl products that list a coconut-derived ingredient
Also read 5 October 2026 [8]. In bold, the coconut-derived name. For caprylic/capric triglyceride and coco-caprylate, the label does not say whether the raw material was coconut or palm kernel; our page on the ingredient explains.
Co-washes (all five we read):
- As I Am Coconut Cleansing Conditioner: coconut oil, coconut fruit powder
- Bouclème Curl Cleanser: virgin coconut oil
- Curlsmith Curl Quenching Conditioning Co-Wash: cocamidopropyl betaine, coconut oil
- DevaCurl No-Poo Original: cocamidopropyl betaine, coconut oil
- Curly Love CoWash: coconut oil, cocamidopropyl betaine, caprylic/capric triglyceride
A co-wash is a conditioner with a little cleanser in it, and the cleanser the category uses is cocamidopropyl betaine. If you want to skip shampoo, the alternative is a plain conditioner from the hair-care guide used the same way, or one of the shampoos without coconut used less often.
Leave-ins and curl creams:
- Mielle Pomegranate & Honey Leave-In: glycereth-2 cocoate, near the end of a long list, plus babassu
- Garnier Fructis Curl Nourish Leave-In Cream (US): coconut oil
- SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie: coconut fruit juice, coconut oil
- Not Your Mother's Curl Talk Defining Curl Cream: cocodimonium chloride. The leave-in and gel from the same line have no coconut name; the cream does.
- Bounce Curl Avocado & Rose Oil Clump & Define Cream: caprylic/capric triglyceride, fourth
- Bouclème Curl Cream: virgin coconut oil, coco-caprylate, coconut fruit extract
- Rizos Curls Curl Defining Cream: caprylic/capric triglyceride second, coconut oil fourth
- Curly Love Crema Definidora: caprylic/capric triglyceride, coconut oil. The leave-in and gel from this brand have neither.
- Flora & Curl Sweet Hibiscus Curl Activating Lotion: coconut oil, second
Gels:
- Innersense I Create Hold: caprylic/capric triglyceride
- Camille Rose Curl Maker: coconut oil, third
Mousses:
- Cantu Wave Whip Curling Mousse: PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, coconut oil, cocamidopropyl betaine
- SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Frizz-Free Curl Mousse: cocamidopropyl betaine second, coconut oil
- Aussie Miracle Curls Mousse: coconut oil
Deep conditioners and oils:
- Bouclème Intensive Moisture Treatment: coco-caprylate, third
- Rizos Curls Deep Conditioner: coconut oil
- Curlsmith Bonding Oil: coco-caprylate/caprate, third
- Mielle Rosemary Mint Scalp & Hair Strengthening Oil: coconut oil, ninth of a list that starts with soybean and castor oil
The pattern across the two tables is that brands are not uniform. Not Your Mother's, Bounce Curl, Flora & Curl, Camille Rose, Innersense, Curly Love and Bouclème each have products in both lists. The brand name tells you nothing; the product does.
The names to scan for on a curl product
Curl products use a narrower set of coconut names than shampoos do. On the 56 labels we read, the ones that appeared were:
- Cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, fruit juice, fruit extract, fruit powder, written in Latin, in English, or both
- Cocamidopropyl betaine, the cleanser, in co-washes and mousses: its page
- Caprylic/capric triglyceride, the light oil, in creams and gels: its page
- Coco-caprylate and coco-caprylate/caprate, the silicone replacement in "silicone-free" products: its page
- Cocodimonium chloride and PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, conditioning agents
- Glycereth-2 cocoate, an emollient
Read to the end. Glycereth-2 cocoate and coconut oil in the Mielle products are in the back half of long lists, after a dozen botanical names. The front of the pack, where the brand puts the pomegranate and the rosemary, is marketing. The full list of names has the ones that turn up in other product types.
What to do
- Ignore "sulfate-free", "CGM approved" and "sin coco" as evidence. Each means something, and none of them means no coconut-derived ingredient. Read the list.
- Pick from the 33 above as a starting point, then read the bottle you buy. Formulas differ between the US, the UK and Spain, and change between batches. Our verdicts are for the list we read on the date given.
- If you co-wash, switch to a plain conditioner. We found no co-wash without coconut oil or cocamidopropyl betaine.
- Decide about babassu with your allergist, not with a retailer's badge. We list it by name wherever it appears.
- Know which allergy you have. For a contact allergy to cocamidopropyl betaine or DMAPA, the mousses and co-washes above are the ones that matter, and stearamidopropyl dimethylamine is worth asking about. For a food allergy to coconut, the proteins are what count, and the evidence that a refined oil on the hair causes reactions is thin: the two kinds of coconut allergy. If your scalp or hairline is reacting, coconut and eczema explains which test tells the difference.
- Photograph the label and see the hair products already in the registry.
Related
Hair care without coconut: conditioners, masks, dye and the salon · How to find a shampoo without coconut · Coconut oil allergy · Coconut's many names · The complete guide
Sources
- Rele A.S., Mohile R.B. "Effect of mineral oil, sunflower oil, and coconut oil on prevention of hair damage." Journal of Cosmetic Science, 2003; 54(2): 175–192. PubMed
- CurlsBot. "Ingredients cheat sheet", read 5 October 2026. curlsbot.com
- CurlsBot. "The Curly Girl Method", read 5 October 2026. curlsbot.com
- Orpi D. "Coconut-free hair products." Holistic Enchilada, June 2022, updated April 2025. holisticenchilada.com
- Curly Stop. "Productos capilares sin coco" collection, read 5 October 2026. curlystop.com
- Boutique Curly, "Sin coco" collection, and Metodo Curly, "Sin coco" tag, both read 5 October 2026. boutiquecurly.es · metodocurly.com
- Wells V. "Five hair products for sistas allergic to coconut oil." CurlyNikki, January 2018. curlynikki.com
- Ingredient lists read 5 October 2026: Kinky-Curly Knot Today · Kinky-Curly Curling Custard · Cantu leave-in · Cantu Wave Whip · Not Your Mother's leave-in · NYM gel · NYM cream · NYM mousse · Giovanni Direct · Giovanni L.A. Hold · Giovanni mousse · Jessicurl Confident Coils · Jessicurl Rockin' Ringlets · Jessicurl Spiralicious · Jessicurl Deep Treatment · DevaCurl Styling Cream · DevaCurl No-Poo · Noughty · Curlsmith Soufflé · Curlsmith Co-Wash · Curlsmith Bonding Oil · Curly Love leave-in · Curly Love gel · Curly Love crema · Curly Love CoWash · Garnier Método Rizos · Garnier Nutri Rizos · Garnier Curl Nourish (US) · Ecoslay · Eco Style · Bounce Curl Light Creme Gel · Bounce Curl Avocado & Rose · Umberto Giannini · Aussie Instant Freeze · Aussie Miracle Curls mousse · Curl Keeper · Miribel · Uncle Funky's Daughter · Flora & Curl gel · Flora & Curl lotion · Bouclème Super Hold Styler · Bouclème Curl Cream · Bouclème Curl Cleanser · Bouclème Intensive Moisture Treatment · Innersense I Create Lift · Innersense I Create Hold · Mielle Babassu & Mint · Mielle Pomegranate & Honey leave-in · Mielle Rosemary Mint oil · Camille Rose Almond Jai · Camille Rose Curl Maker · As I Am CoWash · SheaMoisture Smoothie · SheaMoisture mousse · Rizos Curls cream · Rizos Curls deep conditioner
- Adeola. "10 best coconut oil-free curl defining products." Coils and Glory, January 2024. coilsandglory.com
- Mila E. "Comprehensive list of hair products without coconut derivatives." Sensitive Skin Oasis, December 2022, updated 2025. sensitiveskinoasis.com
Educational only, not medical advice. Always confirm with your allergist.