Baby formula and coconut allergy: which formulas list coconut oil, label by label

We read the ingredient lists of 39 infant formulas sold in the United States: every one names coconut oil or medium-chain triglycerides. In the UK and Europe, several mainstream formulas list neither. Why coconut oil is there, what the hypoallergenic formulas use, the one published case, and what to ask your doctor.

Published October 1, 2026 · 9 min read

Baby formula and coconut allergy: which formulas list coconut oil, label by label

Don't change your baby's formula because of this page.

A baby who is feeding and growing well on a formula is not something to disturb on your own. Specialised formulas are prescribed for a reason, and stopping one can do real harm. If your child has a coconut allergy and the tin lists coconut oil, take the tin to your doctor and ask. That is what this page is for.

Parents of a baby with a coconut allergy find out quickly that coconut oil is in the formula. What nobody tells them is whether that matters, or whether there is a formula without it.

The short answer: in the United States, we could not find one. In the UK and Europe there are several mainstream formulas whose labels list no coconut oil. Whether the highly refined oil in formula causes reactions at all is not established: there is one published case, from 1994, and allergy specialists generally consider refined oil unlikely to be a problem.

Why coconut oil is in formula

Formula has to supply fat, and the fat blend is built from several vegetable oils. Coconut oil is there for its medium-chain fats, which other common oils don't have: a review of fats in infant nutrition notes that palm oil has none, while coconut oil has them in high proportions [1].

Nothing requires it. US rules set how much fat a formula must contain and prescribe no source [2]. The international standard does limit two of the fatty acids involved, lauric acid, which is the main fatty acid of coconut oil, and myristic acid: together they may be no more than 20% of the fat [3].

United States: 39 formulas

Read from the manufacturers' own pages in October 2026 [4]. Lists change, and some products print different lists on different sizes, so this is a record of what we read and not a substitute for your own tin.

Coconut oil named in the oil blend (32):

  • Similac: 360 Total Care, 360 Total Care Sensitive, 360 Total Care made with whole milk, Advance, Sensitive, Organic, Organic with A2 Milk, Soy Isomil, NeoSure
  • Enfamil: NeuroPro Infant, Infant, Gentlease, NeuroPro Gentlease, A.R., ProSobee, Nutramigen (the powder says "one or more of" four oils, coconut among them)
  • Good Start: GentlePro, SoothePro, Soy Ease Pro
  • Store brands made by Perrigo: Kirkland Signature ProCare, and the Infant, Advantage, Gentle, Soy and Hypoallergenic formulas
  • Others: Bobbie Organic, ByHeart (recalled in November 2025), Kendamil Classic, Earth's Best Organic, Happy Baby Organic, Baby's Only Organic Gentle, Kabrita Goat Milk Infant Formula

Medium-chain triglycerides, with the source given as "palm kernel and/or coconut oil" (2):

  • Neocate Syneo Infant, Neocate Infant DHA/ARA

Medium-chain triglycerides, with no source given (5):

  • Similac Alimentum, EleCare, Pregestimil, PurAmino, Alfamino Infant

That is all 39. None lists neither.

The words that don't help

  • "Made with whole milk." Kendamil's lists start with whole milk and include no palm oil. Every Kendamil we read, Classic, Organic and Goat, in the US and the UK, lists coconut oil. So does Similac's whole-milk formula [4, 5].
  • "Goat milk." Kabrita's infant formula lists coconut oil [4].
  • "Organic." Bobbie, Earth's Best, Happy Baby, Baby's Only and Similac Organic all list it [4].
  • "Hypoallergenic." See the next section.
  • The allergen line. Similac's reads "contains milk and soy ingredients", on formulas that list coconut oil [4]. Since 2025 coconut is not a labelled allergen in the US. It will only ever be in the ingredient list. What changed.

The hypoallergenic formulas use MCT

This is the hard part. A baby with a coconut allergy often has other food allergies too, and the formulas made for allergic babies are the ones built on medium-chain triglycerides, or MCT. MCT is made from coconut oil, palm kernel oil or both. MCT oil and coconut allergy.

Formula Share of the fat that is MCT Source of the MCT, as stated
Similac Alimentum about 33% Not stated
EleCare 33% Not stated
PurAmino 33% Not stated
Pregestimil 55% Not stated
Neocate Infant, Neocate Syneo 33% "Palm kernel and/or coconut oil"
Similac NeoSure, for premature babies 25% (and coconut oil as well) Not stated
Monogen, for babies who can't absorb ordinary fat 84% "Coconut and/or palm oil"

[6]

Only one manufacturer, Nutricia, names the plant. Asked about it by a parent, the company wrote that it extracts the MCT from coconut oil, "leaving behind the protein", and that most clinicians don't remove refined oils from the diets of allergic children [7]. That is the manufacturer speaking, and it is also what most of the independent evidence below points to.

These formulas exist because some babies cannot take anything else. If your baby is on one, the question for the doctor is not "should we stop it" but "is this an issue for my child, and what would we watch for".

UK and Europe: some list no coconut

Here the picture is different. In the EU a formula's vegetable oils must be named by plant [8], and several mainstream first milks name only others [5]:

Formula Oils listed
SMA First Infant Milk (UK; powder and ready-to-drink) Sunflower, rapeseed
HiPP Organic First Infant Milk (UK; powder) Palm, rapeseed, sunflower
HiPP Organic First Infant Milk (UK; ready-to-feed) Cream, sunflower, rapeseed
Holle Organic Infant Formula 1 (cow) Palm, sunflower, rapeseed
Holle Organic Goat Milk Formula 1 Sunflower, rapeseed
Aptamil First Infant Milk (UK) High oleic sunflower, coconut, rapeseed, sunflower
Cow & Gate First Infant Milk (UK) High oleic sunflower, coconut, rapeseed, sunflower
Kendamil Classic, Organic and Goat (UK) Sunflower, coconut, rapeseed
Nutrilon 1 (Netherlands) High oleic sunflower, coconut, rapeseed, sunflower
Enfamil Premium Complete 1 (Spain) Palm olein, coconut, soy, high oleic sunflower

A label that lists no coconut oil is only that. It says nothing about the minor ingredients, and none of these pages addresses them.

Latin America

We could verify only Mexico, on Nestlé's and Mead Johnson's own sites [9].

  • NAN 1 Supreme Pro: high oleic sunflower, canola and sunflower oils. No coconut listed.
  • NAN 1 Optimal Pro: palm olein, palm kernel, canola, corn and high oleic sunflower.
  • Enfamil Premium Pro Select: the list says only aceites vegetales, vegetable oils, with no plants named. From that label you cannot tell.

Palm kernel oil is coconut's closest relative, and we found no published allergy to it. Coconut and palm oil.

Toddler drinks

Mostly the same blends [10]. Similac Go & Grow, Pure Bliss, Enfagrow, Kendamil toddler, Baby's Only toddler formulas and the plant-based Else all list coconut oil. Kabrita's goat milk toddler formula lists no vegetable oils at all, though its infant formula does.

Does the coconut oil in formula cause reactions?

What there is:

  • One published case. In 1994, French doctors described an eight-month-old with a severe stomach and bowel reaction to two formulas and not to a third. The common factor was coconut, confirmed by skin tests, blood tests and reintroduction [11].
  • No others that we could find. A study of 69 coconut-allergic children at a Chicago hospital reports no reaction to formula [12].
  • What allergists say. An expert answering for the American allergy academy wrote that he could find no convincing case reports of reactions to coconut oil and that it seemed unlikely to be an issue [13]. A later answer, to a question specifically about formula, pointed out that oils typically don't contain significant amounts of the allergenic protein, and suggested a supervised challenge if there is doubt [14].
  • How much protein is left. A Sri Lankan laboratory measured about 30 times less protein in refined coconut oil than in unrefined, and reported that most of its patients allergic to coconut milk could eat coconut oil [15].
  • The cautious note. Australia's allergy society mentions the formula case in its coconut advice without saying what to do about it [16].

No allergy organisation we found gives guidance on formula for a baby with a coconut allergy. So the evidence says "probably not a problem for most", and nobody official has said it out loud.

Reading your own tin

  • In the US, each oil must be named. A blend may be written "vegetable oil" only with every oil listed in brackets, and the words "or" and "and/or" are allowed for oils that are sometimes used [17]. That is why one label says "one or more of the following".
  • MCT's plant source doesn't have to be given, and mostly isn't.
  • Check the manufacturer's page for health professionals. That is where the full lists above came from, and they are public.
  • Check again when you buy a different size or format. Powder and ready-to-feed versions of the same formula can differ.

What to ask your doctor

  • My child is allergic to coconut and this formula lists coconut oil (or MCT). Is that a concern for us?
  • Has my child ever reacted to this formula? If they are thriving on it, is there any reason to change?
  • If we did change, to what, and how would we do it?
  • For a specialised formula: who makes the decision, and what do we watch for?

Bring the tin, or a photo of the ingredient list.

Coconut allergy in babies and children · MCT oil · Coconut oil allergy · Food shopping: baby food · The complete guide

Sources

  1. Delplanque B., Gibson R., Koletzko B. et al. “Lipid quality in infant nutrition.” Journal of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition, 2015. PMC
  2. US 21 CFR 107.100, infant formula nutrient specifications. law.cornell.edu
  3. Codex Alimentarius. Standard for infant formula (CXS 72-1981). PDF
  4. US manufacturers' pages, read October 2026. Abbott: Similac 360 Total Care · 360 Total Care Sensitive · made with whole milk · Advance · Sensitive · Organic · Organic with A2 Milk · Soy Isomil · NeoSure · Alimentum · EleCare. Mead Johnson: Enfamil NeuroPro Infant · Enfamil Infant · Gentlease · NeuroPro Gentlease · A.R. · ProSobee · Nutramigen · Pregestimil · PurAmino. Good Start: GentlePro · SoothePro · Soy Ease Pro. Perrigo: Kirkland Signature ProCare · Infant · Advantage · Gentle · Soy · Hypoallergenic. Others: Neocate Syneo Infant · Neocate, for health professionals · Alfamino · Bobbie · ByHeart · Kendamil Classic (US) · Earth's Best · Happy Baby · Baby's Only · Kabrita infant
  5. UK and European manufacturers' pages, read October 2026: SMA First Infant Milk powder · SMA ready-to-drink · HiPP Organic powder · HiPP Organic ready-to-feed · Holle 1 · Holle Goat 1 · Aptamil · Cow & Gate · Kendamil Classic · Kendamil Organic · Kendamil Goat · Nutrilon 1 · Enfamil Premium Complete 1
  6. Manufacturers' statements on MCT content: Abbott and Mead Johnson pages in [4] · Neocate · Monogen
  7. Nutricia. “Neocate ingredients explained”, company reply in the comments. neocate.com
  8. Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex VII, Part A. legislation.gov.uk · Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/127, Article 6. EUR-Lex
  9. Mexico, manufacturers' pages: NAN 1 Supreme Pro · NAN 1 Optimal Pro · Enfamil Premium Pro Select
  10. Toddler formulas: Go & Grow · Pure Bliss · Enfagrow · Kendamil toddler · Baby's Only pea protein · Baby's Only goat · Else · Kabrita toddler
  11. Couturier P. et al. “A case of coconut oil allergy in an infant: responsibility of ‘maternalized’ infant formulas.” Allergie et Immunologie, 1994. PubMed
  12. Kruse L., Lor J., Yousif R. et al. “Coconut allergy: characteristics of reactions and diagnostic predictors in a pediatric tertiary care center.” Annals of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology, 2021. PMC
  13. AAAAI, Ask the Expert. “Coconut oil”, 2019. aaaai.org
  14. AAAAI, Ask the Expert. “Coconut”, 2022. aaaai.org
  15. Dissanayake S. et al. Study of coconut milk allergy in Sri Lanka, 2022. PMC
  16. ASCIA. “Coconut allergy.” Updated April 2024. allergy.org.au
  17. US 21 CFR 101.4. law.cornell.edu

Educational only, not medical advice. Always confirm with your allergist.

Join the club.

Free. One email a month, from one person who reads labels for a living now.

  • The printable wallet card, the moment you join
  • Brand replies first, before they reach the site
  • One email a month. Nothing else. Leave whenever you like.